Weekly TBT Post: Dubrovnik!

IMG_1801.JPG

*Dubrovnik!* Dubrovnik, Croatia did not disappoint. It definitely deserves an exclamation point. As the highlight of the 2016 summer Europe trip for most of our group, I’d have to agree. Two nights in this walled-in city with a history just as interesting as its architecture wasn’t nearly enough time.

Ready for a million pictures of super-cool Dubrovnik? OK, great. 🙂

IMG_1762.JPG

Nightlife.

On our first night, we went on a guided walking tour of the city and checked out the nightlife. The next morning, we were up and about for sea kayaking!

IMG_1775IMG_1763IMG_1769IMG_1774

IMG_1770

Where we docked to swim.

After kayaking, the group split up. Most headed to do Game of Thrones-related things. Since I live under a rock and haven’t watched the show, unaware until then that it was filmed in Dubrovnik, I wandered for a bit. Then I hopped on a ferry, hoping it was the one our guide had recommended that sailed to a small island, and somehow didn’t get charged as the boat sailed away…

IMG_1776IMG_1777

IMG_1778

Pirate ship?

Luckily, I had boarded the right boat and ended up on this island, where I’d spend a few hours following the map of things to do.

IMG_1779IMG_1780

IMG_1781

This little lagoon was called the Dead Sea.

IMG_1782

Meeting some animal friends. Giant hares!

IMG_1783

Botanical garden.

IMG_1784

It’s hard to tell from this photo, but this hill was SO STEEP. People were literally stripping as they climbed on the 99% humidity day.

IMG_1785

Made it to the fortress at the top of the hill!

IMG_1786

After all that hiking, I took a nice siesta on this beach chair.

IMG_1787

…and woke from my nap to a peacock!

With as much dumb luck as I had getting to the island, I hopped on a ferry for the return trip and again didn’t get charged. 🤷🏻‍♀️

IMG_1796

Bye, island!

IMG_1788

Back on the mainland, I walked around the massive wall that surrounds the city. And  It. Was. Incredible! I’ll let the pictures speak for themselves.

IMG_1792IMG_1791IMG_1793IMG_1790IMG_1789

Walking at sunset was stunning. Having been to a few European cities by this point, there was something extraordinary about Dubrovnik, especially seeing it from such a unique vantage point.

IMG_1797IMG_1798IMG_1800

IMG_1804

Catching the sunset before hopping on the city bus back to the hostel.

IMG_1805

I literally ran off the bus to the shore to get this photo. 🙂

IMG_1806

Since we’d gone out in the city on our first night, I took advantage of some quiet time enjoying this view with a cider on the hostel patio, resting my tired legs and happily reflecting on all that I’d seen.

. . . .

And because any place I visit wouldn’t be complete without cat-stalking, here are some felines caught on candid camera:

IMG_1803

Awww. 💤

IMG_1807

Cat paparazzi.

IMG_1808

Cat gang? My imagination could only hope.

2 thoughts on “Weekly TBT Post: Dubrovnik!

Leave a Reply

