Throwback Post: Madison, Wisconsin in the “Yes We Can” Era

Traveling around the (sunny! warm!) northern parts of the North Island of New Zealand has got me slacking on writing, so I thought I’d do a quick throwback to happier times in the U.S.

In 2008, the international college city that was my home for 5-ish years, Madison, Wisconsin, hosted then-Presidential hopeful, Senator Barack Obama.

IMG_1518.JPG

Ah, a Primary season that was hopeful and inspiring.

The city was abuzz with hope, with life, and with optimism about the future. Hearing the future President speak, I had chills, completely in awe of his poise, knowledge, articulated points, and inspiring speech.

IMG_1519.JPG

Just look at that presidential future President.

And sometimes, it’s just nice to think back on something positive and inspirational, and smile–and not lose faith in humanity.

IMG_1520.JPG

Excited, politically active students in line on a cold February day in Wisconsin.

Leave a comment